Kick Out the Jams, Missoula 2012 (plus Toronto 2011, Werchter 2010 + NYC 2010). Because you can never have too much KOTJ.

I’ve been running quite a bit lately, and I have a  great playlist that keeps my legs chugging along. There’s a lot of PJ on there (shock!). “Brain of J” is the perfect BPM, as is Ed’s cover (with Betchadupa) of “I See Red” and PJ’s cover of “Sonic Reducer”. “Rise” is exactly what I want to hear on some cool mornings, as is that “Pump Organ” song from EV’s Fort Lauderdale show last year (not that I have that, obviously).

But this one (I’ve got this exact version on there) is hilariously inspiring for sprinting up a hill or making one more big push. I never thought too much of this cover, but now I love it. It’s the charging guitar that gets me, and Mark Arm is SO. COMPLETELY. GREAT.

The audio on this one isn’t perfect (anyone up for some syncing with soundboard?) – but I think having the audience in the background makes it. They are having a shit ton of fun, people. How does MM keep playing after being tackled by Mark Arm? Skillz.

Better audio, no audience:

Edited to add: And, ’cause MFSCYNC172‘s awesome, here’s some more Mark Arm (oh my god, his moves at 0:50) + PJ KOTJ action with perfect audio (and most excellent video) from Toronto in 2011. Also, Ed: get your shit together!

AND here they are with Dave Grohl bashing the shit out of a tambourine, and Alain Johannes rocking out, in Werchter 2010 (though I think Mark Arm does a better intro, no?):

And, finally, in NYC in 2010:

If you’re not dancing now, FAIL by you!

Leave a comment